Elegant Rose Cake

18 Oct

I promised myself I’d put in some practice time baking cakes, since this is a weak area for me. I don’t know about you but something deep within me me rebels at baking a cake when I can make their quicker, cuter cousin – Mr. Cupcake.

But I’d promised myself I’d give it a go, so I did.

And I’m glad I took the time!!

A few weeks back, I found a Rose Cake Tutorial. What a beautiful, elegant and simple creation. [Note: I did NOT do the vertical interior since I’m focused on icing practice. Next time.]

Sometimes the simplest creations are the most beautiful.

The cake is a simple yellow cake recipe infused with a lot of apricot liqueur.  Booze makes baking much easier, I’ll tell you that.

I dyed the cake a rather ridiculous shade of pink in honor of October’s Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  Don’t forget to do self-checks and get screened, if necessary!

Overall, I give my icing job a ‘C.’  Lots of practicing to do. But if a cake novice like myself can turn out a decent result, be heartened!

And I’ll tell you what: learn how to do your first breast self-check or get a mammogram and I’ll bake you a cake.  Because staying healthy is just that important.

…And then we’ll go walk off the calories together.  Because staying healthy is just that important.

One Response to “Elegant Rose Cake”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lychee Ombre Rose Cake « Decadent Dragon Bakery - December 12, 2012

    […] this weekend. I was honored when she asked me to make a rose cake for the event, after seeing my first attempt back in […]

Please leave a comment!

